ChicagoDiscus.com     Golden State Discus

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: bare V.S planted? help out the newbie,lol

Registered Member

Default bare V.S planted? help out the newbie,lol

ok i'm a TOTAL newbie to discus, i have 2 brilliant turquoise coming in tomorrow, everything is already setup for them in my 20g, and next month when my africans are moved to the pond they'll go to the 30g then finally around june to the 75g. i'm 15 btw, trying to prove that someone as young as i can can indeed keep discus and keep them well .anyways, the 20g is in the living room, its lightly planted right now with a fine gravel substrate, previous occupants have been moved out, major WC done, everything checked etc. but i've been lurking around this site quite a while now and notice that 80-90% of discus i see on this site are in bare tanks.......now i want the best for my discus, should i introduce them to my planted tank or keep it bare? would bare be better for health? i'm jus now getting into them so i'm not lookin to breed...........yet : sooooooo planted or bare? pleez answer asap, thank u

mark

Default Re:bare V.S planted? help out the newbie,lol

I'm pretty new to Discus here also and from just keeping them 3 weeks I can't even imagine NOT having them in a bare bottom. When you see how much waste they produce BB is a must. Most people that have Dicsus in planted tanks have Discus that are 4" or larger. BB is Sooo much esier to keep clean to.

Registered Member Carol_Roberts's Avatar

Barebottom is a must for juveniles. Actually it's best for all ages of discus.

By the way you may have problems with only two (or three). Four is about the minmum as they like to be in groups (6 or 8 is even better). One option might be to postpone getting the discus until you can put 4 in the 35 gallon.

Registered Member

I agree with Carol with the amount of fish. The larger the tank you start off with, the better. It takes water longer to foul up if there is more of it.