ChicagoDiscus.com     Cafepress Store

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Beginners setup

Registered Member

Default Beginners setup

I am new to discus and plan on setting up a 55g discus tank. Here is what I plan on getting.

Tank, Stand, Shop light, 2 200W Heaters, AC300 , Air Pump, Sponge filter, Trash Can for ageing water, Air pump for trash can, Heater for trash can, Mag drive to refill tanks after w/c, beef heart and other foods for discus, and discus I plan on getting from Ryan AKA Dkarc@aol.com.

Do you guys see any problems with my setup. Please give me some feedback on how I should change this or just general things I should know about keeping discus.

Registered Member

Default Re:Beginners setup

don't forget the glass canopy

Registered Member

I think im just going to go to home depot and buy a piece of acrylic or something and cut it to size.

Registered Member

What kind of air pump would be good for a 55g tank running 1-2 sponge filters?

Registered Member Carol_Roberts's Avatar

I use good old Whisper air pumps from Walmart.

You may be able to "age" (circulate/agitate) your storage water with the water pump and not need an air pump for it.

I'm sure Ryan can give you tons of advice ;D

Registered Member

id go with glass canopy .......acrylic scratches and isnt the strongest......plus the glass canopy arent really that pricy and they looks better......but thats just me ....oh by the way, u can never read and learn to much from this forum or any other information sources....better to learn from someone elses mistakes and not yours -----AndyM

I'm pretty sold on the Tetratec Deepwater filters. Especially if you are going to run air to a deep barrel. They are quite, reliable, and reasonably priced if you shop around online. I think I paid about $16 for a dw-24.

Registered Member