ChicagoDiscus.com     Golden State Discus

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Beginner Primer - pH and Discus

Registered Member JeffreyRichard's Avatar

Default Beginner Primer - pH and Discus

I'm prompted to post this as I read several questions in this section around pH.

There is alot of information, misinformation, good and bad advice around pH and Discus. This can and has lead to problems with many a new keeper. I hope to simplify this topic and offer some appraches that have worked successfully for me. Hopefully you can adopt some of these practices and not have to worry about pH.

I have been breeding angelfish and discus for 14 years. I've had a good measure of success in this time ... there are a few members of this community that have obtained stock from me. I'd like to think my approach is solid. HOWEVER (this is the disclaimer part ...) my recommendations are based on my observations and common sense, not scientific method. Also, my approach only represent ONE approach, and I am not representing this as either the BEST or ONLY approach. It does work for me, however.

If you are interested in a fairly technical expaination, click on this link http://www.fishdoc.co.uk/water/pH.htm

JEFF'S RULES
    • Don't worry about your pH!!

Pretty simple ... huh. I must be out of my mind ...

I've been raising Discus in tab water (unaltered chemically) for over 12 years ... the pH out of my tap is 9.5. Yep, 9.5. Now, my water is soft, so the pH actually drops to the high 7's once it mixes with the tank water. But I do 95% water changes occasionally with straight tap and I haven't had problems.

I used to use Seachems Discus Buffer to drop pH to 6/6.5 because all the literature said I had to have acid water. Instead, the chemicals actually caused problems with the breeding of my angels and discus (eggs calcify) ... when I stopped the problems went away.

I don't advocate chemicals to alter pH ... here's why
    • Costly
    • a lot of work