PDA

View Full Version : I could not sell my Discus; I could use some advice!

scarhbar
10-31-2012, 09:58 AM
I was originally going to sell my Discus, because of the crazy amount of work it was starting to become. I am a full time college student, working part time, taking CNA classes, with a baby on the way, so I was trying to sell them to clear up some space, and maybe make a little money for this baby.

However, this doesn't seem to be the case. Nobody around here want's them for more than $12 a fish, so I figure I might as well keep them. I just have a few questions!

1. Do any of you have experience with Heavy Duty Shelving Units for holding multiple aquariums? Apparently the one in the link can hold 2750 lbs per shelf! Does it look like a reliable shelving unit for a few aquariums? http://www.globalindustrial.com/g/storage/bulk-rack/extra-heavy-duty/ex-high-capacity-bulk-rack-steel-deck#gridAnchor

2. My tank space is very limited. I have a 75 gallon tank, but that contains my Crenicichla Marmorata. I wouldn't trade him for the world! Easily my favorite wet pet. So that tank is out of the question. The only other somewhat-large tank I have, is my 55 gallon. I know this is an absolute minimum as far as Discus habitat goes, but will 5 Discus do ok in there for a while, until I can afford a larger tank?

3. Also, I want to make this tank bare bottom as well. What are some nice decorations for a bare bottom? Because my Discus are very shy as it is (except one; the alpha male?).

4. What is a good staple to feed my Discus? They do not like pellets at all, so flake food is my best bet. I've just been feeding them a mix of Ocean Nutrition Flake food, because it has some high protein content. But flakes don't seem like they are quite enough now that I think about it. Hmm, what would you guys suggest?

Sorry for all the questions! I just need a lot of help now! Thanks, Tyler.

camuth8
10-31-2012, 10:23 AM