PDA

View Full Version : Daily 50-75% water change question

Kingin
01-07-2013, 11:47 PM
I know daily water changes of 50-75% are best for discus quality/health. But there must be a easier way, I currently have a 65g bare bottom tank with an eheim 2217 and 2234. I age and heat my water in a 90 gal plastic drum placed next to the tank. I use a siphon to suck out crap and 50-75% water then use pitcher and refill everyday. I've noticed people have me mentioned sump systems automatic water changers etc.

With my current setup what do you recommend to make water changes a bit easier without breaking the bank. Also is sucking out the discus crap important to do everyday or water changes everyday and crap cleanup every other day?? Was looking at the eheim sludge remover for crap cleanup and a jehmco safety siphon drain. I'm new to daily water changes thanks in advance

Jeff O
01-08-2013, 12:08 AM
Since you already have the water drum next to your tank I would recommend using a water pump and a simple hose hooked up to it, place the hose into the tank and just plug in the pump. I ALWAYS syphon out any waste (I do daily 35-50% changes) however when im not able to do thoes i just take out 5 gallons of any waste and clean the pre filter. That way the left over food/crap on the buttom wont ruin your overall water quality.
-Jeff

kimbo
01-08-2013, 12:14 AM
Length of hose connected to a small pond pump. Much easier then a pitcher.

discus6628
01-08-2013, 01:39 AM