PDA

View Full Version : Type of Paint

dbrodeur
03-03-2013, 08:32 PM
I'm a newbie in keeping and caring for discus. So far, I've been doing a lot of reading. My latest research is painting your fish tank. With the info in mind, I went to Lowe's today to buy paint. I asked the sale rep for a qt of acrylic or latex True Turquoise. I cannot use spray cans b/c my tank is in the house and it's too big to move around. To my surprised, the rep asked what is it that I'm painting. After I told him, he said no paint will permanently stick to glass, within weeks or months it will peel off. Needless to say, I didn't buy any paint. I don't understand it b/c other SD members have done it and with great success, especially Bill63SG. Did I asked for a wrong type of paint, or did the sale person gave me a run around? Is there special type of acrylic or latex paint that I should be asking for? Can someone please assist me. Thank you in advance for your assistance.

jjgunshot
03-03-2013, 08:48 PM
I used acrylic based paint just from dollar store as it will adhere to the glass but if u scratch it with anything it will come off right away....The lowes guy is right yes that it wont stick but thats only if u scrape anything against it....Its great stuff tbh. When u want to change colour just get straight edge razor and scrape off and paint again :P takes no time at all

dbrodeur
03-03-2013, 09:48 PM
jjgunshot,

Thank you for your reply. I'm going to test it out on a small scale b4 I paint the whole back, just wanted to see how easy it can be scratch off. Once my tank is painted, I'm not planning on doing any touch up or repainting b/c it's a 300g, 6K+ lbs when full ops.

cooksa
03-03-2013, 10:14 PM
I painted mine with a water based indoor paint. Haven't had issues with peeling, even where the paint was chipped after the fact. The best part? If you don't like the color, peel it off and start all over!

dbrodeur
03-03-2013, 10:24 PM
Stacey,