PDA

View Full Version : The Goon is a noob. Questions about water change and my planned tank stock.

The Goon
03-19-2013, 11:58 PM
First of all, Thank you all for the wealth of experience and knowledge in this forum.

This is my first post. Please be gentle, lol.

I have been keeping freshwater fish on and off for about 16 years now, however, I have always been too intimidated by the care needed by discus to try to raise them. Until now.

I have a 120g tall, bare bottom tank. I'm running two Aquaclear 110s (with dual sponge filters along with a layer of the supplied ceramic bio filter material and a prefilter. No carbon) and have an air pump rated for 300g split between my 120 and a 37g quarantine tank. Two 250w heaters are keeping the tank around 83 degrees during the day and 81 degrees at night. My goal is to raise 8 juvies from 2.5-3.5" to full grown adults that I will likely purchase from Kenny (I'd like to start off bigger but I am limited by my budget). I plan to purchase 6 at first and acquire two more (costlier) strains down the road. I already have 18 cardinal tetras and 6 Julii corys I plan to keep as tank mates. Is this a good stock for the size of my tank?

Second issue is this: I don't have it in my daily schedule to do daily water changes. As it stands now, I do 2 45g water changes each week (Thursdays and Sundays, my days off of work). I have read that doing a daily wc is the best way to go. Unfortunately, this isn't possible for me. I could up it to three a week (I have one half day on Tuesdays I could do another wc on) or, as I have done for the last week, do two 90g wc's a week. Considering the size of the tank and stock I plan to have in the aquarium, will I regret investing in this hobby? Will the fish in good health with 2, possibly 3, wc's a week? Should they be 45g or 90g at a time? I do not plan on breeding as this is my first, yet very desired, venture into the realm of discus.