PDA

View Full Version : Discus and water changes - I travel a lot

Octavio Salles
04-02-2013, 11:09 AM
Hi guys, first post here... great forum, very informative!

I'm from Brazil and, after several years away from the aquarium hobby, I'm crazy to return. I want to build an Amazon blackwater biotope,

- 60 gallons
- No plants, only driftwood, dried branches, dried leaves and a thin substrate of sand, all collected in pristine rainforest.
- Low light, to create a dark, "pass through canopy" effect.
- Plan on 5 adult "wild-looking" domestic discus bred at a great local farm, some Corydoras, a couple plecos and a small school of cardinal tetras.
- Large HOB filter with peat, mechanical filtration and bio substrate. I may keep a separate small HOB filter as well to cycle the bio filter and be ready for the quarantine tank when needed.
- I want a dark stained water for realism, driftwood and leaves should help here.

My main problem, and doubt, is that as a wildlife photographer I travel quite a lot, a couple times a year spending almost 20 days out, but usually much less, like 5 days. These longer trips worry me, as there will be no one to do the water changes. What are my best options here? Do a large water change before I travel? Should I consider a more robust filtration system (which one)? Or should I simply forget about discus (please no :-) ) ?

DiscusBR
04-02-2013, 11:25 AM
Hi Octavio,

Nice to see another compatriot in the forum :) Your plan looks great. However, you should definetely look for a more robust filtration system. I suggest a canister filter (Eheim 2217 would be an excellent choice) instead of a large HOB. Driftwood and leaves might stain the water dark in the beginning, but the effect will go away with time and with the frequent water changes. I would not worry about it. Be sure to clean and sanitize all branches and sand. You can boil the wood and treat the sand with bleach (água sanitária) to make sure you kill all the nasties.