PDA

View Full Version : Discus or Not?

Pazzoman
04-23-2013, 06:22 PM
Hey Everyone,

I will try to best explain my situation by following the questionnaire sticky

1. About my self: Hey Everyone my name is Tony (not really important but who cares lol) and I have been dealing with fish probably since I was 10 and now 18. I have worked with mainly freshwater which consisted of parrot cichlids, gars, knifefish, barbs, catfish, sting rays... I have also dealt with saltwater and for the last 2 years...even tho it was great I have decided to comeback to freshwater. So far since the end of december Ive been back to freshwater. Im currently working with my main focus of the tank are orange head geos as I think they look magnificent when large and will be a great candidate for my upcoming tank upgrade (180+ gallons) for the new house. So I have 10 geos in my 72 gallon bowfront tank....over crowded I think not as they are all one inch lol.

2.Experience with discus: I have no experience with keeping discus however thier has been times thru out my hobby where I researched heavily into it. Now I'm some what back into the research once more. I have looked thru the stickies here and read some of the other people's posts. After creeping on the site for a few weeks I have finally decided to post this up to help narrow down my remaining questions (Excluding one thread in the sales thread).

3.My Tank I am working with a 72 gallon bowfront tank and quite honestly I HATE THIS SHAPE!!!! The tank is a 4 foot x 15-18 inches x 25 inches (LxWxH). The tank was properly cycled for a whole month and I continue throwing in a cap of Seachems Stability every week. This tank will be a display but if everything goes well I could set up a smaller tank under the larger tank in the future for breeding attempts (Ok really jumping the gun thier, but always good to be optimistic right?).