PDA

View Full Version : My Questionaire and First Post

CarvinSigX
04-26-2013, 01:16 PM
I'm relatively new to the hobby, having only been in it for around 4 years, but I've been studious and have enjoyed the learning process. I'm a biology student and father, but I still find time to keep my 4 tanks healthy and thriving.

2) If you have no previous experience with keeping discus, have you done any research to properly prepare yourself, e.g. have you read any Stickies in this section of SimplyDiscus, or other material?

New to posting, but have lurked here, as well as other sites. I also try to read plenty of fish books.

3) Describe your tank, its size and dimensions, breeding or display. Include how long it has been setup or if it is still being cycled.

My main tank that I'll be adding discus to is a 125 gallon (72x18x21) Marineland aquarium.

4) Describe the décor for the tank; type of substrate or bare bottom (BB), whether the tank will be planted or a biotope.

I'll be decorating it with driftwood and fake plants, with PFS as substrate. I'm aware of the maintenance, as I am used to plecos.

5) Describe your water changes planned or practiced, percentage and how often. Include if you age your water and use of tap/RO or mix.

On this tank, I'll likely do a 50% water change every day, but it will only have 6 discus, so we'll see if I can get away with every other. I doubt it, considering I'll be power feeding them. I don't age the water now because it stays close to the tap. I'd like to start though, if it makes THAT much of a difference. It may move .2, but I doubt it. Need a meter instead of the test kit to be honest.

6) Describe the type of filtration planned/used for the tank; sponge, HOB and/or sump. Also include the other equipment you are, or will be, using in your tank, e.g. heater, lighting, etc.