PDA

View Full Version : A couple questions from a perspective discus keeper

artgecko
06-07-2013, 02:44 PM
Hello folks!
I've been lurking around reading the great info on this site for a while and had a couple questions before I decide to take the "plunge' into keeping discus. First I'll fill out the questionnaire and then pose my questions.

1) Please Introduce your self ..
I've been keeping fish on and off for the last 10 years. I've kept many types of FW fish (including catfish, tetras, barbs, dwarf and african cichlids). I have also kept both planted and non-planted tanks. At the height of my MTS (multiple tank syndrome) I was keeping a 46 gl planted community, a 20gl african shell dweller species tank, and 2-10 gl planted community tanks. Due to moving and job issues I have been tank-free for about 3 years at present. I do currently keep some herps (geckos) in a terrarium, but that's it. I'll be moving next year (looking at buying a house) and am planning on setting up a large show tank.

2) If you have no previous experience with keeping discus...
I have never kept discus (although I have lusted after them for years) but I have been doing a large amount of research on them on this site and elsewhere.

3 - 4) Describe your tank...
I will probably be looking at setting up a tank between 75 - 125 gallons... preferably 90 gallon +.. Will depend on what I can find used and what I can get my non-fishgeek husband to agree to. I will also probably acquire a 40gl - 55gal tank for quarantine purposes. I currently have a 20gl tall tank that is dry and might also be used as a QT. QT tanks will be bare. I am planning on doing a heavily planted low-light setup for the show tank. The show tank will probably have an enriched sand bottom (i.e. onyx sand) or flourite. Decor will include driftwood, floating plants, and rooted plants. I am on the fence about potting the plants.

5) Describe your water changes planned..