PDA

View Full Version : Flat Rock Substrate?

KrisTENN
06-13-2013, 10:51 PM
Hi, I'm a newbie here (have been lurking for a few weeks) and am contemplating setting up my first Discus tank. I have raised various types of African Cichlids in the past so I'm not completely new to the "sport", but I am setting up my aquarium again for the first time in quite awhile and have a few questions. I'm sorry if this has been asked before, but I tried the search feature, and I'm not sure if it wasn't working properly, or if it just wasn't cooperating from my phone.

Anyways, I understand the seemingly great benefits of having a bare-bottom tank, but I just don't care much for the appearance of them. So here is my proposed solution: What if I used large (5-6") flat rocks to line the bottom of the tank? The reason that I was contemplating this is for the ease of cleaning the bigger rocks vs. sand or gravel alone.

Is this a ludicrous idea? It just seems like an alternative to a BB tank, but I've never seen or heard of one, so I was curious if there's a reason. Any info or suggestions would be very helpful :)

Kristen

Vieira
06-13-2013, 11:01 PM
BB is best but if you don't want to go that route I would do 1 inch sand. The slate of rock I think is not a good idea there going to be lots of left over food and poo under those rocks. I used a texture paint for my tank so I can keep it bare bottom but still have the sand look.

KrisTENN
06-13-2013, 11:13 PM
BB is best but if you don't want to go that route I would do 1 inch sand. The slate of rock I think is not a good idea there going to be lots of left over food and poo under those rocks. I used a texture paint for my tank so I can keep it bare bottom but still have the sand look.

Good point about stuff getting caught under there. I was thinking about maybe a thin layer of sand underneath, with minimal amounts revealed between the rocks. Thoughts?

Vieira
06-13-2013, 11:17 PM