PDA

View Full Version : Bigger is better?

Spyke
06-17-2013, 03:24 AM
Hello all! I'm no newbie to fish... But with discus I'm a little lost. I have about 20 aquariums running at my house. And run the fish section at a local fish shop where I keep everything: salt, shrimp, odd, rare, bread and butter fish, and even discus.

But here is my dilemma, and I ask for some good input. I have an opportunity to get some great discus from an individual who got them from Hans and Kenny. Both for me and the store. I think he keeps them in tap water since they are kept with yellow lab cichlids. Anyways. I am interested in getting a breeding pair from him, or a pair and a spare just for fun. I have a 90 tall that I just set up with some established sponge filters, a power head and a small hob filter. Should I put the discus in the new 90 and attempt to breed there . Or should input a pair on an established 20 tall which would allow for easier water changes, and easier area to control for breeding. Both of these are bare tanks also. I have an RODI unit
so I can control my water params any way I want. But I want this to be easier rather than difficult and I don t want to kill these fish by switching them into a new tank. Thanks

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

timmy82
06-17-2013, 08:39 AM
The 90 would be good for pairing up a group of discus and the 20 tall should be ok for a pair. Myself I like a bit larger 29 for my breeding tanks but see how you go with what you got.

DiscusLoverJeff
06-17-2013, 11:52 AM
If you are going to be a first time discus breeder, I would highly suggest reading the "Breeding" section of the forum.

I use 20 gal tanks for pairs with a sponge and a HOB filter (AquaClear 30). I also do 50 to 75% water changes daily on the pair. You will also need to get quality foods to feed them as well. If the pair comes from Hans, ask about his Beefheart mix and flake foods. Also look into freeze-dried blackworms.