PDA

View Full Version : finished cycle

Spercy123
06-19-2013, 03:06 PM
hey guys my 240 litre tank has just finished its cycle ammonia and nitrite are at 0 and nitrates are around 10 ppm...theres 10 rummy nose tetra in there at the minute which i am gona keep and have rams in my community tank that i want to put in there also...would my best bet be to put the rams in now and leave it for another while and let them settle in and keep checking the water parameters before i buy my 6 3 inch discus ?? been told of people putting there discus in as soon as the tank is cycled and then they have spikes because the tank still isnt really ready...im only a beginner so might not really have the best idea at all here but any help of what to do next and what way to go about it from some of your experience would be appreciated....

DiscusLoverJeff
06-19-2013, 03:24 PM
How long has it been cycling?

Spercy123
06-19-2013, 03:36 PM
Only 2 weeks jeff I added gravel from my established tank as well as bogwood etc which would of all had beneficial bacteria on them as well as one of the filters from my established community tank think this is why it happened so quick but I know that the tank is probably gona need a lot longer before adding discus that's why I posted this though because I've read people saying once you get the ammonia and nitrite to 0 and nitrates at healthy reading then your tank is cycled and you can add your discus...don't want to make a beginners mistake and just throw them in as soon as I can wana make sure it's definitely ready...adding some rams would give more of an indication of the readiness of the tank and also add a bit more fish waste etc to see how well the biological filter will cope ??

DiscusLoverJeff
06-19-2013, 03:41 PM
Adding the rams would help for sure. I would give it another week after adding the rams and check your water again before adding the discus, especially if you are not going to QT the fish. Better to be safe than sorry.