PDA

View Full Version : Discus and Ick

HAGAR
06-20-2013, 08:21 PM
Hello I need some help. I have a 55 gallon tank, I purchased 2 neon blue discus fish a month ago and they have been doing great. That is until I purcbhased 2 discus fish from a supplier online. I introduced the new fish and now a week after placing the new discus in the tank I now have ick. I have raised the temp to 82 degrees and yesterday treate3d the tank with copper safe. Today I noticed that there are more spots of ick on my neon blues. I am upset what do I do. I am new to the discus community. These are ther first discus I have evre had. Thanks to all that reply.

Dan

Elliots
06-20-2013, 09:13 PM
Raise the temp to 88-90 to kill the Ick. There is something called "Super Ick" I know nothing about. With the higher temps add or increase aeration to keep up the oxygen level at the higher temps. I think there is some debate on SD about using Ick meds. If you do use meds and have other fish in the tank make sure the meds will not kill the other fish. Keep the temp up for at least 1-2 weeks. Try the search function on SD for more info.
If you read SD you will read that it is best to buy all your Discus at one from one supplier. It is also best to buy from SD sponsors, you will not get any fish with Ick.

Trubble
06-20-2013, 09:31 PM
Hi Hagar,

We went through a round of ick when we got back into discus. It came into our tank on a group of cardinal tetras. We raised the temp to 90ish degrees, added a couple more air stones and added 1 1/2 tablespoons of aquarium salt per 10 gallons of water. We did large daily water changes. We kept this up for about 2 weeks with the lights off, and the discus all came through the ich with no ill effects. We did not use any meds, just the heat and salt method we found researching on this site.

Hope this helps. Good luck and welcome to Simply.

DonMD
06-21-2013, 07:41 AM