PDA

View Full Version : New to Discus

STHH
07-11-2013, 10:25 PM
Hello all, i am new to Discus fishes, and i just got these 4 3inches fishes to keep in my very old and established 3ft tank that already had some spawning cories.

They are already happily swimming around looking for food every where.

Can someone tell me what are the colouration of these fishes, as i am not too familiar with discus yet?

I am planning to feed them tetrabits complete and frozen bloodworm sparingly. Will this be a sufficient diet for these juveniles to grow well?

I usually change 70% of tank water weekly, together with my goldfish tank, will this be too much for the discus?

Thank you

http://i498.photobucket.com/albums/rr346/trelch/P7112975_zpsf345f34a.jpg

blueluv
07-11-2013, 10:53 PM
Welcome to SD

The tetra complete will be ok for your pigeons but it will turn your yellow discus orange. IMO I would stay away from blood worms and you need a better variety for your discus. Check out the sponsor section, they sell food for your discus. You can try kens fish, Hans , bill at inland empire and Al's section-aquatic suppliers. What are your goals with your discus? A good number to start with discus is 6 as they are a schooling type of fish.

STHH
07-11-2013, 11:12 PM
Thanks Chris, so i have pigeons and yellow discus. I am so clueless about this.
My aim with the discus is just to keep them to their full potential, and they will be healthy and grow up well. Not a breeder or for show.

I am feeding the discus with the frozen bloodworms only couple times a week to give them more variety, cos the LFS told me they are feed on those. These discus are also snacking on the tiny bit size food which i am giving to my 10 tetras. Will try to look for 2 more juveniles of the same size to put in the tank, but is worried about overstocking in my 3ft tank.
I don't think i can get those fish food you mention in my location, but will try to look for more alternatives.