PDA

View Full Version : New Here, With Questionnaire

Jnotjane
07-20-2013, 12:48 PM
I'm new to discus, but not new to the aquarium hobby. I like to do my research before diving into something new and welcome any advice ya'll can give me, so here goes.

1) Please Introduce your self and tell us what your experience is with fishkeeping, give us as much information as possible as to how long in the hobby, what you have kept in the past and what you currently are working with:
I've kept tanks since I was a child, but in the last ten years I have kept planted tanks with angelfish and a couple of saltwater reef tanks. I recently relocated from the Phoenix area to North Carolina, which meant all tanks were taken down and 3 were sold. This gives me the opportunity to start something new, and I've decided to finally give discus a try. My ultimate dream tank would be to turn my 90 gallon into a planted discus show tank, but after reading some of the threads on planted discus tanks, I'm rethinking what scape I really want to do.

2) If you have no previous experience with keeping discus, have you done any research to properly prepare yourself, e.g. have you read any Stickies in this section of SimplyDiscus, or other material?
No previous experience, just talking with very experienced breeders and researching on the internet, which led me here (wonderful site!)

3) Describe your tank, its size and dimensions, breeding or display. Include how long it has been setup or if it is still being cycled.
Standard 90 gallon, for display only. Its currently still in Phoenix waiting to be shipped along with all our other stuff. Once it arrives, I'll start cycling it.

4) Describe the décor for the tank; type of substrate or bare bottom (BB), whether the tank will be planted or a biotope.