PDA

View Full Version : New discus

oplus
08-16-2013, 11:20 AM
Hi guys

Im new to discus i would like to seek your advice why would my new discus wont eat‚ he is very active but when i put food he doesnt pay attention to it.

Set up
30 gallons
2 pigeon bloods- 1 and half inch
1 red map - 1 and half inch
1 red melon- new got two days ago biggest at 3 inch
Breeder said eats beefheart like prior fish i got from him‚ he is not skittish when im near the tank.

Water parameters are okay
I aged my water
Temp 32 degree's - i think this is around 89 celcius if im not mistaken
Tank has driftwood and sand im currently taking that out little by little during wc
Water change everyday 40% using aged tap water using anti chlorine

camuth8
08-16-2013, 11:45 AM
First I'd like to identify your problems. 30 gallons isn't recommended for growing out discus. You'd like to get a bigger tank, 55 for growing out, or 75 to save not getting a tank once you're discus get too big. I do also notice that you're not able to get any discus from any sponsors here on Simply. 32 degrees may be a bit warm for discus, too. Once you reach 10 posts, you can post pictures of your discus and we can see the quality of the discus.

Welcome to Simply!:wave:

Crunchy
08-16-2013, 05:07 PM
New discus will take a few days to adjust. If they dont start eating by 3-4 days, there may be a problem.

8ftbed
08-16-2013, 06:09 PM
32 celsius = 89+ Fahrenheit

Where at in the PI? Are you running a heater or is that just ambient temp? Although it's rainy season there now and a little cooler. If you have a heater in the tank, I'd lower that temp.

Although you state using aged tap and dechlor. Manila on city water? Ha! My six years in Olongapo was off a water tower on the roof and I don't know how that was filled. I never had heated water though.