PDA

View Full Version : Newbie with discus laying eggs

kevin.whisler
08-17-2013, 04:42 PM
Hi members,

This is my first posted question, so please be kind if it is stupid or repetitive. I am new to discus and to this forum. I am currently growing out my first batch of discus. The fish came from Hans at about 2.5", about eight months ago. They are now about 5" long. My two largest and most robust fish are a pair of brilliant turqs who seem to have developed a strong desire to reproduce. They are laying a clutch of eggs about every 2-3 weeks. The first time, I watched the female lay the eggs on the tank wall. Since then, they seem to have developed an affinity for the intake tube of my HOB filter. Once the eggs are deposited, they both go into hover/protect mode and guard them. At this point I have no desire to raise fry, so I just let it run its course. Over the next week or so the eggs gradually go away. I don't know if the other fish eat them or if they die and fall off the tube. I also noticed that when the pair is in "hover" mode, their color is noticeable dark, and they stay off to themselves with the eggs. Once the eggs are gone, their color goes back to normal and they rejoin the rest of the group.

I am just wondering if this is typical behavior. I kind of assume that fish laying eggs is a sign that they are healthy and content. Does that make sense? Thanks in advance for any feedback.

Kevin

Keith Perkins
08-17-2013, 04:52 PM