PDA

View Full Version : Let me know the condition of my discus

Quintin
09-07-2013, 05:56 PM
I hav attached pics of my 2 red turq discus 80mm in size.please let me know what you think of their condition and if all looks well so far.and if any irregularitys please let me know as im very new to discus and would appreciate your oppinions on my babys.

DiscusLoverJeff
09-08-2013, 09:55 AM
How old are they Quintin? They are still young at 80mm (3" or so), they will have some growing left to do.

Also, what size tank are they in? The color pattern is nice so far.

Second Hand Pat
09-08-2013, 01:14 PM
Moved this thread from the discus university section.

Quintin
09-17-2013, 03:22 AM
Hi Everyone i would like to know how you go about measuring my discus.i have seen people put them on a cloth on a table and measure them and then put them back in tank.is that the correct way.and what is the method of measuring them my maths skills arnt up to scratch.do you measure top to bottom or side to side.body only or fins to fins.please advise.i know my discus were about 80mm when i got them and would like to see how they have grown.

strawberryblonde
09-17-2013, 03:50 AM
There are a couple of ways to measure them. If they're small, you can lay them on the palm of one hand and measure with the other.

If they're too big to fit comfortably on the palm of your hand, use a the inside of a smooth lid or shallow bucket to lay them flat. You can add a tiny bit of tank water if you want to, but they are fine out of water for the time it takes to measure them.

I used to lay them on a plate! Then one day one of mine decided to flip himself off of the plate and all over my counter top, so now I use the lid from a styrofoam shipping box (the one that they arrived in). It has tall enough sides on it that even if they flop around they can't launch off of it. And it's easy to just slip them back into the tank water when I'm done without having to try to pick them up again.