PDA

View Full Version : Day three

bluepill
11-04-2013, 07:06 PM
Hi There,

It's my first post and I am a Discus noob from the UK. I imagine what I'm about to say is a very common thing but hopefully you guys can help!

I have been keeping my 60L community tank for several years with a couple of angels and dwarf gourami etc. It's been going great and I was feeling pretty confident so I decided to get a second tank.

I bought a Juwel Vision 180L, filled it with dechlorinated tap water jump started the filter media with something like nutrafin cycle (It wasn't that but similar I forget the name). 48hrs or so later as instructed by my LFS I added 5 danios to help the filter get on with creating my beneficial bacteria. After 2 weeks of testing the water every day and very stable readings I decided to do what I had always planned for the tank - get six discus. I have read up on keeping these guys before buying and I have kept it a very simple bare bottom tank. (The danios are perfectly happy swimming about in my other tank)

Before discus:
Temp 28.5
PH 6.5
Ammonia 0
Nitrate 5

I travelled to one of the best discus stockists in my area (not my LFS) and came home with six 3/3.5 inch assorted blue/red turks the choice was amazing but my budget was limited. We got home, I introduced the fish and they immediately seemed pretty skittish. They were dark and trying to hide all together in the corner of the tank most of the time. We had been given some beefheart mix and told to feed them five times a day. They had a peck at the first small cube we added but it basically sat on the bottom of the tank.