PDA

View Full Version : Ageing Tap Water & WC

JustinDiscus
11-15-2013, 08:11 PM
I am wanting to start my first Discus tank but there is one thing that really confuses me and I've yet to find a straight answer.

It's about water changes and whether or not you should age the tap water before adding it to the tank. I've reach and talked to people and I'm getting a lot of mixed answers. Some say it is 100% needed, some say it does not matter at all and you should do a WC like you do with any other fish which makes a lot more sense to me.

So what is it? And why? It seems like ageing the tap water is making yourself to a lot more unneeded work but I don't know and I am just getting into Discus keeping.

:confused::confused:

DiscusLoverJeff
11-15-2013, 08:22 PM
Welcome Justin.

Use the search area and you will find a lot of threads that might give you a better idea to fit your needs. There is a lot of material in this forum.

pastry
11-15-2013, 08:26 PM
Justin, you'll still find mixed responses here. You'll also find a lot of, "use the 'search' function"-type of replies since this subject's been beat to death. You may have already seen those though and you're hoping someone just steps in and tells you what to do (maybe... some people just find more comfort in someone else making up their mind for them). Personally, I age only in the winter. I haven't started yet but I am already at the point where I think I should if I want my gang to not be pissed at me & a little uncomfortable after each WC.

How about this, set up a bucket of water straight from tap, take a ph test right away, put the aerator in there, check the ph 24 hours later (record them), and then check the ph 48 hours later and report back on this thread what you come out with. That may yield better responses in what direction to go. People will help you, put do that first and get back to us Sunday. Sound like a plan?

pastry
11-15-2013, 08:26 PM
Damn't Jeff... you beat me!!!!!!!!!!

JustinDiscus