PDA

View Full Version : 85 gallon planted tank, suggestions?

ferdyvw
11-26-2013, 05:40 PM
Hi I am from Holland and have been reading along for a while.

today I bought my first discus fish. 2 tiger turqoise, 2 red valentine and 2 pigeons. All of them are tony tan fish and about 4.5 - 5 inch big.

The tank is 85 gallons and the sump is another 30 gallons.

Any suggestions on the scape? All the feedback is welcome, I am new to freshwater, I always had reef tanks :)
http://img.tapatalk.com/d/13/11/27/7u8ege2u.jpg
http://img.tapatalk.com/d/13/11/27/vega7aga.jpg
http://img.tapatalk.com/d/13/11/27/5eva6e6y.jpg

Sent from my HTC One S using Tapatalk

wild4discus
11-27-2013, 12:54 AM
Those are nice looking discus especially the valentines, great color. The scaping looks great... simple and natural.

ferdyvw
11-27-2013, 03:00 AM
Thanks.

Btw they are on tap water. Ph 8, kh 5, redox 360. No nitrates or chlorines (those are not allowed in dutch tap water).

My sump is filled with 10 liters of ceramic tubes and another 2 liters of bio-ball's.

Temperature set to 28.5

Hope I am going in the right direction with my tank :)

Reel Obsession
12-05-2013, 08:22 PM
Tank looks great!!

Nick Klimkowski
12-05-2013, 08:36 PM
Looks great, you could always tie some java ferns on to the drift wood.

-Nick

Tormentor
12-07-2013, 02:46 PM
Thanks.

Btw they are on tap water. Ph 8, kh 5, redox 360. No nitrates or chlorines (those are not allowed in dutch tap water).

My sump is filled with 10 liters of ceramic tubes and another 2 liters of bio-ball's.

Temperature set to 28.5

Hope I am going in the right direction with my tank :)

Ph is too high. Lower it, scape looks natural keep it simple.

dirtyplants
12-07-2013, 03:10 PM