PDA

View Full Version : Cichlids to Discus

TfnG
12-11-2013, 09:22 PM
Hello everyone, this is a great forum with lots of info!

I'm coming from the African Cichlid world. In my area there are so many keeping/breeding that its getting a bit stale. There are a few Africans that ill never get rid of but about 6 months ago I was looking for something new to try that is different to me. And I found discus.

A good LFS ordered me 6 discus from Segrest Farms. I have been keeping them in a 55g for a little over 2 months now and enjoy learning them. But the bug is biting and I'm getting rid of a few African tanks and wanting to expand a bit on the discus side:D

My 6 are 2 Marlboro, 2 blue Snakeskin, 2 red Pigeon. I think trying to breed would be a new/fun challenge. I guess I should get a few more of each and split them up into their own 55's ? Mine are 3"ish so I have time before they will ever pair off.

There is Rocky Mountain Discus about 2.5hr from me and i REALLY want to make it there sometime and see a breeder in person! I'll probably just end up wanting a few other types as well. Lol.

Anyone with input feel free to share.

dadecountyalan
12-11-2013, 10:00 PM
Nice! Africans are awesome though. Especially demasonis. They are my favorite.

Why dont you just get a 75 and put all the discus in one tank?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk (http://tapatalk.com/m?id=1)

zimmjeff
12-11-2013, 10:01 PM
Did you get the fish still in the bag from segrest or were they in their tanks. Jeff. Welcome to Simply.

TfnG
12-11-2013, 10:15 PM
Never took them out of their bags @ the store. The store owner knew better.

Adding all the different types to 1 tank be the way to do it? Rather than putting each type in their own tanks? Wouldn't a for example Marlboro possibly pair with a pigeon? Or will they not do that?

If u mix Africans in the same tank u end up with a bunch of un wanted hybrids.

dadecountyalan
12-11-2013, 10:57 PM