PDA

View Full Version : about nitrate levels

Miamiheat
01-24-2014, 10:50 AM
Hello,
Beginner here really enjoying reading loads of threads on this forum.
I have a 240 litre tank (63 US GAL) that has sand on half the bottom and is BB in the other half. I have live plants as well.
Filtration is a Fluval FX5 and EHEIM 2217 loaded with biomedia. I have 9 hungry fellows in there and would say 5-6 are not adults yet and the 3-4 remaining ones are adult. Smallest one is about 4 inch (lenght) and biggest one is around 6.5 inches: all of the others are in between.
Api test kit reveals 0 amonia, 0 nitrite and always 40ppm to 80ppm and sometimes more nitrates. Temp was 31C for a few days but dropped it at 28C.
I change water everyday (20-30 percent) and about once a week 50%.
I am aware that its a bit crowded but given the overkill on filtration i thought this would compensate somehow.
I do feed them once or twice with pellets in the AM before work and a few times with pellets in the evening, with usually one or two cubes of beef heart.
I thought jeez I am overfeeding but at the same time there are no leftovers within seconds. And when I do a WC i syphon the sh-t from the bottom as well so that happens daily.
Any ideas?

TheBigB
01-24-2014, 11:33 AM
I would feed less and up your daily water change schedule to 50% and do a 75% once a week.

Cichlidcraze
01-24-2014, 01:03 PM
Hi Miamiheat.

Your test results show that your filtration is doing exactly what it should. Its handling the bio load of an overstocked tank. Have you tested your tap water for nitrates? My tap water sometimes has a nitrate reading of 5. Having said that, i feel that you should increase your water change volume per water change to a minimum of 50 percent. Anything less than 50 percent is just not going to have a dramatic effect on the nitrate level IME. Hth

Cass

Second Hand Pat
01-24-2014, 01:07 PM