PDA

View Full Version : New to SD and Fascinated !!

treemanone2003
02-04-2014, 08:17 PM
Hello all !!!
I'll try to keep this short, but I don't think it'll work. I'd like to start off by admitting that I never knew SD existed and for that i am a bit ashamed, but very grateful to have found you fine folks !! :o:o
I'm not "new" to Discus however, I am new to what's really "proper" with them. I had some previous experience (before a divorce) but, with some strict precautions put in place, have not so long ago gotten my landlord to allow me to keep a small (40 g) tank in my 3rd floor apartment. What knowledge I do have of Discus is from a Cichlid tech at a LFS whom I've formed a great friendship out of along the way.

I now know I'm breaking the rules a bit but for starters, please bear with me. Currently a 40 gal breeder, gravel substrate, couple decorations. I know I have an Amazon Sword and two other tall slender things. I'm running a Fluval 205 w/ no carbon, on city water and use a Python straight from the tap for WC's.
A 20 gal (BB) QT w/ a Whisper HOB
Parameters are as follows:
pH 6.8 (API)
Ammonia 0 (API)
Nitrates 0 (API)
Temp 84-86 (dep on outside temp)
Soft water based on the dip stick tester from Tetra.
These are both tap and tank conditions as I test both quite frequently.

WC's consist of 30% every 2-3 days w/ 50-75% once weekly on 40 and only the weekly 50-75% on QT. Along with these I use recommended dose of both Stress Coat and Stress Zyme from API.

Currently, (more broken rules) and soon to change, the 40 gal houses 4 Discus, 2 Angels and 1 SAE. I'll have to persuade my landlord for more permission to set up another tank and tell him it's for sick fishes.;)

Besides those two tanks, the garage houses the following:
20 g turtle (free)
40 g breeder (free)
70 g bow front sw (free)
75 g (only one I purchased) AND........