PDA

View Full Version : RO unit and aging barrel setup newbie questions- please help

Nicolette
02-14-2014, 10:49 PM
I am a newbie to discus and have been reading a ton from this site for 2-3 months now- very helpful. I have a 55g aquarium (48"L x 12"D x 20"H) and have fallen in love with the look and variety of discus! especially in lightly planted tanks: Anubias nana, Eleocharis parvula, Tiger Lotus plant, driftwood, with some BN plecos and school of rummy nose tetras....

I had originally planned to cycle then raise the plants for a few months, add the community fish, and lastly- after everything is running like clockwork, I've achieved stability and consistency with frequent water changes, testing the water, plant fertilizer etc. I would add ~5 adult discus. Of course, this would require quarantine, and I don't currently have a 2nd tank.

The more I read the more I feel I should follow advice to start BB....as much as I love the look discus with plants and community fish...but I know it will be worth it to be patient :). I realize a 55 g tank is the bare minimum size to have discus- 5-6 (as I've read this is the minimum # to keep) so I would be pushing it to have plants and other fish anyhow! I'm now thinking I should start BB, with one piece of driftwood with Anubias nana, and start with 5 adult discus and keep them happy! Once I'm comfortable keeping them and (cross-fingers) they remain healthy and thrive I would like to purchase a larger tank 120-140 g that I would start plants in, move the discus to, and then add community fish (the 55 g would then be used as a quarantine tank which I would keep the community fish and one discus in for wks to assure all was well).

Does this sound like a better idea? If so, I have several questions::confused:

RO question???: