PDA

View Full Version : Please help with float valve & aging barrel questions?

Nicolette
02-15-2014, 12:16 AM
Sorry for these silly questions- newbie here- but I'm not a plumber/handy person in any way. I have a 55 g aquarium and plan to use a Rubbermaid Brute 32 g barrel (I believe this is food safe?) for my aging barrel.

1) I have a RO unit 150 gpd membrane - will I need a pump/booster to make making RO water most efficient? If so, where does this fit in?
2) What does one recommend for a float valve in the aging barrel?- I presume you make the appropriate sized hole in the barrel for this- then is any sealant/silicone needed to seal this?
3) Will one air stone work? with a heater used in the barrel.
4) Does water need 24 hrs to age or is 12 hrs enough?
5) What pump would you recommend to move water to my 55 g aquarium ~20 feet away? Would the pump just be placed in the barrel/turned on when needed then removed or would I use the pump somehow to agitate the water for aging as well (instead of an air stone?) I have a python -does this somehow connect to the pump to transfer water or would I just buy vinyl clear hose?

Thank you!

DonMD
02-15-2014, 08:00 AM
Hi, Nicolette,

These aren't silly questions, they're good ones. I can't answer your questions about RO water, I don't use it myself, just city water.

I've had great success with John at Jehmco when figuring out what float valve to use on my aging barrel. You can google Jehmco for the phone number, and ask for John. They work with large fish breeders, but they've always had time for the hobbyist, too. As for the pump, for your needs I'd recommend one of the smaller mag drive pumps, they are very dependable and quiet. I have the largest one because I pump water up one level in my house. I just keep it in the bottom of the water barrel, it's been there for years.

Good luck.

Nicolette
02-15-2014, 10:28 AM