PDA

View Full Version : Newbie- sump questions. Please K.I.S.S.!

Nicolette
02-15-2014, 11:13 AM
I am new to discus and plan to start BB 55g tank with 5 adult discus. Simple. Assuming I love them and all goes well :) , and after 1st flooring renovations in our home I would like to buy a larger 120-150g display tank. I like the idea of not seeing as much "stuff" in the aquarium and having more water volume (more stability) so I think a sump might be the way to go at that point. I would like to invest in a nice plumbed system.

1) Can one order an aquarium/stand/sump already plumbed with overflow, holes drilled and PVC all set up?

I have seen the Glasscages website (which I find more user friendly) but have read is not as good of quality (not 90 degree corners, extra silicone left etc.) and miraclesaquarium website (which I've read is higher quality) and on both one can order aquarium with sump and acrylic overflow covers I believe... but are they all plumbed? Then I presume you order the lights separately (I don't really like the look of a canopy- looks taller/harder to reach perhaps to clean, feed? My thought is if I'm purchasing a brand new custom aquarium (60x24x24 would be ideal for the area I'm thinking) I would love to just purchase it all together and know it's done right, all set for cycling and discus!...I don't trust myself to drill holes...not really sure exactly where they would go, connect/seal PVC correctly, etc!

2) Does anyone have any visual links to sites or photos describing a simple sump system?

Many of the posts on SD are old and photos have been removed. I understand the concept of the loop...but what do you actually place in the sump, etc.? When doing water changes- do you add new water to the sump or to the aquarium? I presume one would empty old water from the aquarium? as you clean the bottom debris and wipe down the sides.

Thank you for taking the time to read and hopefully respond!

musicmarn1
02-15-2014, 11:26 AM