PDA

View Full Version : How do I start

galdadi
03-23-2014, 02:34 PM
hi all,
I'm kind of new in the discus area, so I wanted to ask If I can raise discus fish in my tank. Here is my my tank parameters-
I have 40 gallon tank.
quartz gravel mixed with substrate- I would say 70% substrate and 30% quartz.
low tech plants such as alternanthera, jungle val, bacopa, crypts- which covers the back of my tank.
atman cf-1200 filtration system.
fluorescent bulbs- 4*60W.
appropriate heather.
14 rummy nose and 16 tetra cardinal.
I do twice a week 20% water changes.

My questions are- Can I raise discus fish- I so- how many and which size?
How many water changes should I do?
What is the recommended food- I read in this forum about many recommendation- so what are the right balance between dry/live food,
Thanks
Gal

Elliots
03-23-2014, 02:56 PM
A 40 gallon is a little small for Discus. People on SD seem to agree a minimum of 55 and hopefully larger. I would think 75 gal minimum, but that is just me.

mrez5
03-25-2014, 09:08 AM
Hi, i am new too but you might have missed out one of the sticky thread on this forum which is very helpful for people like you and me.

URL: http://forum.simplydiscus.com/showthread.php?86009-Beginner-s-Guide-to-Getting-Started-with-Discus

Hiball1
03-26-2014, 02:47 AM
I think by your description in my opinion you could raise 2 discus comfortably. I raised 2 discus in a 29 gallon tank that grew to around 7 inches. they were happy and hardy. I kept them in that tank close to 7 years before giving them away. As suggested bigger is always better.You can never have to much room for discus. Again this is my own opinion from my own experiences.

John_Nicholson
03-26-2014, 08:47 AM
Disregard the above advise. You chance of success in that setup is very, very small. I would suggest holding off until you can get a better setup.

-john

Hiball1
03-26-2014, 12:18 PM