PDA

View Full Version : Advice for a total beginner

Luvztigger
04-07-2014, 09:14 PM
Hi everyone,
New to this forum and to discus keeping. I have been keeping fresh water community tanks for 5-6 years now, so not too novice on that one. However, I wanted to start with one discus and if successful, maybe go to 2 or 3. Here is what I have learned from reading the posts but please feel free to give more pointers. I am sure I will need it. I got a juvenile, around 1.5- 2''. Right now, he is in a 20g by himself.
1) Would like to keep my discus in a community tank, but I have read its not a good idea, b/c they are shy and don't compete well.
2) water changes 3-4 per week
3) no plants in the tank? not even water wisteria?
4) how about gravel? or should I go completely bare?
5) food? breeder fed pellets and blood worms, so should I just keep doing that?

I am sure there are more...

Udeservit
04-07-2014, 10:01 PM
1. http://forum.simplydiscus.com/showthread.php?110113-BEST-TANK-MATE-FOR-DISCUS . I have cory doras and cardinals with no problems. The idea is to minimize diseases, and to give your fish a less stressful environment, less species of fish is best.
2. Water Changes can vary on how many fish and/ size. 3-4 per week sounds ok but make them big. Babies do better with daily water changes.
3.http://forum.simplydiscus.com/showthread.php?59346-These-plants-have-worked-for-me-in-a-discus-tank-(photos)
Discus require warm temps that many plants cannot thrive in. There is also many different opinions on Barebottom versus Planted tanks. If you want a planted tank there is a section here you can spend some time in.
4. Gravel can be hard to keep clean.Cory Doras wiskers prefer sand too. An inch or less of Sand is much easier to maintain. Pool filter sand seems to be a popular choice here on the forum beside bare bottom. I personally have sand. Again many differing opinions here.