PDA

View Full Version : Do discus become more round with age?

vadyao
04-17-2014, 01:20 AM
So im new with discus and so far i have all juvies less than 3 inches. They are healthy and all but their face/nose seems too pointed like that of a football. DO discus become more round as the grow and develop flat foreheads like the show fish we see. I also have a few juvies under an inch and they look like miniature footballs, not round circles. Any one know from experience? I do daily water changes, multiple WCs, and perfect water perimeters ?

Udeservit
04-17-2014, 09:57 AM
I don't know this but I'm interested too. Maybe you tube baby discus and see?

Trier20
04-17-2014, 10:11 AM
LOTS of quality food and lots of fresh water daily. You will have to invest a lot of hard work into those footballs depending how old they are.

-Brandon

Larry Bugg
04-17-2014, 10:15 AM
So im new with discus and so far i have all juvies less than 3 inches. They are healthy and all but their face/nose seems too pointed like that of a football. DO discus become more round as the grow and develop flat foreheads like the show fish we see. I also have a few juvies under an inch and they look like miniature footballs, not round circles. Any one know from experience? I do daily water changes, multiple WCs, and perfect water perimeters ?

In another post (about QT) you stated that you have had discus for a year and in this post you say you are new to discus. Are the 3" and 1" discus that are football shape a year old? How old are the discus you are asking about?

Skip
04-17-2014, 10:22 AM
How old are the discus you are asking about?

actually better question would be How long has OP Had them..??

OP.. have you actually but a ruler to them.. or just GUESStimating.. ?

John_Nicholson
04-17-2014, 10:41 AM
Baby discus start out looking like any other baby fish. They do round out with age but there is a limit.Most of their shape will materialize in the first 4 or 5 months.

-john

kkdiscus