PDA

View Full Version : New to Group & Discus

Snow
05-29-2014, 01:51 PM
1) Please Introduce your self and tell us what your experience is with fishkeeping, give us as much information as possible as to how long in the hobby, what you have kept in the past and what you currently are working with.

A) Hi I am Tammy and I have had freshwater tanks on and off since I was a child. I have had the usual mollies, guppies, goldfish, oscar's, angelfish, ect... in the past. As of now I have a 30 gallon goldfish tank & 4 betta tanks (not bowls)

2) If you have no previous experience with keeping discus, have you done any research to properly prepare yourself, e.g. have you read any Stickies in this section of SimplyDiscus, or other material?

A) I have no experience with keeping Discus before! They are beautiful fish and I am now ready to start on this adventure after reading, reading & reading and going to the LFS and asking lots of questions. Yes, I have read the "stickies" here and even re-read some of them.

3) Describe your tank, its size and dimensions, breeding or display. Include how long it has been setup or if it is still being cycled.

A) I have a 75 gallon (48.25 W x 18.31 D x 21.93 H). I have no intentions at this time on breeding. I have not set it up yet. That's why I am here :)

4) Describe the décor for the tank; type of substrate or bare bottom (BB), whether the tank will be planted or a biotope.
A) I would like to go with a sand bottom but again.....not sure which is best. (any comments are appreciated)

5) Describe your water changes planned or practiced, percentage and how often. Include if you age your water and use of tap/RO or mix.

A) I will be doing water changes most likely every other day (or depending on the age/size requirements & advice given here). I will be using aged tap water for my water changes.