PDA

View Full Version : THINKING OF ADDING PLANTS

Snow
06-01-2014, 10:57 PM
As some of you may already know.....I'm new to Discus but not freshwater tanks. Although, I must say this is the largest tank I have had (75 gallon). I am doing the fishless cycling right now on it...just added the water to day &hooked up my filters. So, I have a little road to go before I get to fish & ect....

My question is......do I add plants now or wait until the fish are in & doing well? I don't want a really heavily planted tank so I was thing of doing some in pots (thinking may be easier to remove if I need to for any reason). I am doing a light (as in depth) sand substrate on the bottom of the tank. Or should I just try to root the plants in that. I am most thinking a few plants to fill in some spaces and for the fish to have.

Any comment good or bad are all welcome! I am here to learn :)

Discusdude7
06-01-2014, 11:07 PM
If this is your first time with discus than it's better to start with a bare bottom tank. You can paint the bottom with textured spray paint to make it look like sand and then put swords or something in pots. Just an idea.

farebox
06-01-2014, 11:08 PM
Being new to keeping discus, I recommend going bare bottom at first. Plants are cool, but that's another thing to worried about at first. Once discus get going okay, I would add plants in plant pots from Disgirl.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

musicmarn1
06-02-2014, 07:42 AM
+1 I'm so glad I waited until I knew my fish really well. Most of the tanks I added plants to or added adult discus to planted tanks did fine but one had an almost instant infection and I removed all out of that tank, if I had not known the fish as well I would have had no clue how to treat!

Second Hand Pat
06-02-2014, 07:50 AM