PDA

View Full Version : Keeping different size Discus

torch
11-18-2014, 12:45 PM
Its is ok to keep different size Discus together and would it hurt the growth of young discus? Would the runt of the pack (smallest one) be deprive of food? Just feed to different of tank so that the 2.5 can getting feeding?

I got 6 and their size range from 5, 4.5, 4, 3.5 , 3 and 2.5. I seen videos of tanks with different sizes so I thought it would be ok. Then I see how the 2.5 (runt) is now hiding during feeding.

Long time anyone have success keeping different sizes in their tank? Basically using single tank for both grow out and display?

Susie
11-18-2014, 11:35 PM
I always have a separate grow out tank. I feed my little ones three to five times a day and change the water at least daily. You wouldn't want to do that with a display tank.

kris2341
11-19-2014, 12:14 AM
Ahem, I have no personal experience mixing discus sizes, but you seem to be in dire need of information so I will do my best to work out an explanation through the observations I have made on the mixed size discus tanks... Here we go!

Mixing fish of different sizes generally is something that is a hit or miss. Sometimes the big fish will ignore fish of smaller sizes, sometimes they will torment them, this is generally what is said all around here so it is not something people recommend. Most people who mix them only do it once they confirmed success with their specific fishes and have a back up tank on hand if things go bad.

Stocking density also seems to play a role in the mixing of sizes. In the tanks I have seen here on SD, there are ample numbers of larger discus and ample numbers of smaller discus kept together with good success, because I have no first hand experience with the mixing of sizes yet, I can only speculate but I believe having numbers well over 10 discus total and over 6 discus in each size group in a tank allows for a nicely established pecking order that leads to minimal stress.