PDA

View Full Version : Size and breeding age

Blademan
03-07-2015, 08:14 AM
Hi all I am new to keeping discus, my 10 fish are between 4 to 5 inch total length, how old would this make them approximately, and what age could I expect them to pair up, I am not keeping the discus with the intention to breed, but nature will take its course

Second Hand Pat
03-07-2015, 09:15 AM
Hi all I am new to keeping discus, my 10 fish are between 4 to 5 inch total length, how old would this make them approximately, and what age could I expect them to pair up, I am not keeping the discus with the intention to breed, but nature will take its course

Well, breeding is not based on size but rather the age of the discus. How large discus become is based on the care they received in their first year. Generally domestic discus reach breeding age between nine and 18 months depending on strain. Wild discus between 18 months and into their second year.
Pat

Blademan
03-07-2015, 07:19 PM
Well, breeding is not based on size but rather the age of the discus. How large discus become is based on the care they received in their first year. Generally domestic discus reach breeding age between nine and 18 months depending on strain. Wild discus between 18 months and into their second year.
Pat
Pat what age should my discus be in the 4 to 5 inch range assuming normal growth and not stunted.

Altum Nut
03-07-2015, 08:10 PM
Pat will chime in soon....
I will assume in optimal conditions Discus in the 4" to 5" range will be 4 to 8 months old...however will also depend on strains. Some strains do mature in size and color later then others.
It was not mentioned in your post but care to share your source and strains you have acquired...would love to see a full tank shot only if you wish to share...

...Ralph

Second Hand Pat
03-07-2015, 08:52 PM
Pat what age should my discus be in the 4 to 5 inch range assuming normal growth and not stunted.

Pat will chime in soon....