PDA

View Full Version : What I have learned in the last 3 years!

DiscusJimmy
04-03-2015, 09:52 AM
Hello Simply members!
Sorry I do not post that much, but I am an avid reader in the forum and have learned so much through this website. I thought it was time to stop taking and give a little for once.
I have been keeping discus now for 3 years now and wanted to share some of my experiences and major mistakes over the years leading up to now.
Firstly I have been keeping fish all of my life; starting with goldfish, then tropical community, Malawi cichlids and finally Discus. All of this prior experience, I do not think, really prepares you for discus though. These fish are much less forgiving and soon tell you when you’re screwing with their home too much!
So what have I learned over the last 3 years that is worth passing on...

1. Water is your friend...change it often, test it often but don’t screw with it!

The water I have here in Spain is very changeable. When it rains the pH can fluctuate wildly. For this reason and because I want to breed I bought a RO system. Plus I wanted to create the perfect water...or the myth of the perfect water.

My water from the RO unit comes out at pH6.6, KH 0, GH 0, TDS 9. This is great and I thought to myself I can chase the pH of 6.8 and set the KH and GH to whatever I want. This is true to some extent, but the moment you think about buffering the pH will have to increase accordingly. This cost me a fish by increasing the KH and adding acid to lower the pH afterwards. The pH “bounced” and one fish turned into a missile and terminated itself.

Now I add enough KH to my storage bucket to increase it to KH2.5 – 3 which will bring the pH up to 7.2 and just leave it well alone at that. I know I can use branded buffers, but to be honest the more things you add the greater the margin for error.

2. Quarantine your fish or roll the dice...