PDA

View Full Version : Too much current?

mcaquatic
04-15-2015, 11:59 PM
I am a long term hobbyist but have not done discus for a while. I just set up a 72 gallon bowfront in the bedroom to soon hold some discus. I was sorting through my filter stock and had an AC110 and fx5 laying around. I like to have to filters running. Will this provide too much current for the tank?

thanks

monching
04-16-2015, 12:11 AM
I have a penn plax cascade 1200 and a aqueon 55/75 in my 30 gal. tank and I don't see any problem. I just bounce the flow on the tank wall and my discus doesn't seem to mind at all.:) Cascade 1200 is rated up to 150 Gal. and Aqueon is up to 90 Gal. my water is always crystal clear.

dagray
04-16-2015, 01:17 PM
With the FX 5 you will probably want to run the output through a sponge filter to defuse the flow, or run it through a spray bar.

you could try running the output as a vertical straight pipe with the exhaust as close to the bottom as you can get it (maybe with a mall angle on the pipe), or you can try to bounce the output off of the back corner of the tank.

I have a Fluval 406 where the exhaust is as deep as I can get it and bounced off the corner of the back of the tank.

I get high flow with low current this way.

bamzam
04-18-2015, 01:25 AM
With the FX 5 you will probably want to run the output through a sponge filter to defuse the flow, or run it through a spray bar.

you could try running the output as a vertical straight pipe with the exhaust as close to the bottom as you can get it (maybe with a mall angle on the pipe), or you can try to bounce the output off of the back corner of the tank.

I have a Fluval 406 where the exhaust is as deep as I can get it and bounced off the corner of the back of the tank.

I get high flow with low current this way.