PDA

View Full Version : Discus Hiding Problem Pls Help

Luke S.
04-29-2015, 09:04 PM
I'm new to discus and have had them for a while but they aren't shurely happy and hide but are eating somewhat when I leave the room. Pls help and respond

zchauvin
04-29-2015, 09:46 PM
Lighting? Filtration? Tank size? What size fish? How long have you had them? What are tank mates? Feeding regimen? Water parameters? Pictures of fish.

Luke S.
04-29-2015, 10:36 PM
The lighting is a. Urgent led light that is growing plants and the tank is 90 gallons. I currently have an aqua clear 110 (the largest size), a penguin emperor filter (largest size), and a power head with a sponge on the in take which helps a lot. The biological media is ceramic. The other filtration is charcoal, peat moss,and mechanical sponges and other matting. There are 3, three inche ones, one 2 inche one and two others that are 5 and six inches. There are no tank mates but one tiny green pleco. I have had them for a while but I had others that died in the process but some are six months old and I just got one at an auction that is three inches and is doing fine, but is Hidding like the rest. I was feeding them nothing but strait blood worms until lately when I discus breeder at an auction told me that it was the proper diet so i'm feeding them new life spectrum discus pellets and they are only nibbling on them but they are still adjusting to pellets so don't take that into the asumption. The perameters as of right now are 4.9 for ph the gh is 35ppm and the temp is 86 but yesterday the ph was 6.5 is this a crash? If so what in the world should I do to safely fix it.

limige
04-29-2015, 11:38 PM
ph sounds unstable, are you using well water? 4.9 is very low and 6.5 is ideal. most important is stable conditions and lots of fresh water.

you want to do water changes every day if you can. you should use water of the same temp and treated for any chlorine or chloromine before adding to the tank.