PDA

View Full Version : New to Discus and Forum. My answers to the questionnaire

stalefish83
06-03-2015, 12:53 PM
1) Please Introduce your self and tell us what your experience is with fishkeeping, give us as much information as possible as to how long in the hobby, what you have kept in the past and what you currently are working with.

My Name is Jason, and I’ve been keeping fish for about 6 years. I started ignorantly with 3 common goldfish in a 3 gallon tank. Lost two of them to jumping out, and quickly realized after a little research that goldies need a lot more room. I upgraded the single goldfish to a 40g, got another goldie, and upgraded them again to their current 90 gallon tank. I still have my original common goldfish at about 7”.

I’ve kept khuli loaches, dwarf gouramis, plecos, cories, a pea puffer, and I recently had a 75 gallon SA/CA cichlid tank with a Firemouth, Honduran Red Point, Rainbow cichlids (x6) and a Blue Acara. For filtration I’ve used HOB filters (AC110 is my favorite HOB) canister filters, and a sump.

2) If you have no previous experience with keeping discus, have you done any research to properly prepare yourself, e.g. have you read any Stickies in this section of SimplyDiscus, or other material?

I have no previous experience with Discus, but have done a lot of research on this forum and others, having read stickies and various threads, and online articles on keeping discus.

3) Describe your tank, its size and dimensions, breeding or display. Include how long it has been setup or if it is still being cycled.

This will be a display tank. It is a standard 75 gallon measuring 48” x 18”. The tank is fully cycled, the filters (2 aquatop cf 300s and 1 fluval xp3) have been running for years

4) Describe the décor for the tank; type of substrate or bare bottom (BB), whether the tank will be planted or a biotope.

Pool filter sand substrate, bogwood, large smooth river rocks and planted with anubias (rooted in the bogwood)