PDA

View Full Version : 75g w/ sump. Group of 25 discus grow out thread UPDATE: 2-7-16

Pages : [1] 2

rickztahone
08-08-2015, 06:19 PM
I have never done something like this before, so, this will be more of a full length journey from very small discus to hopefully adult sized discus. Al (Castro) was nice enough to give me the opportunity to try my hand at it by giving me 25 discus from Mr. Goh Eng Khoon. They are Fine Line Leopard SnakeSkins and they were artificially raised. Again, I have never done something like this before, growing out from 1", and I am not 100% positive I can successfully do it. I will update this thread periodically so you can follow along :). The smallest I had ever grown out before was from 3" and grown out to roughly 7", but I will try my hand and this new challenge.

I more than likely should have set up a smaller tank to grow these out a little, but in the 75g they went. They are already eating BH and they all ate a lot earlier after I let them loose on the tank.

specs, 75g tank/40g sump, 25 discus, BB, will be doing 50-60% Daily WC's or possibly every other day at first since they are so tiny. Eventually, my goal is to keep 8 of them. The others will be sold off around the 3-4" size range, depending.

Enjoy :)

And here is my blog on the journey:
http://forum.simplydiscus.com/entry.php?17-Following-the-Goh-Fine-Line-Leopard-Snakes-babies-Blog

Driftwood Mike
08-08-2015, 06:25 PM
Looking forward to watching the journey

Second Hand Pat
08-08-2015, 06:59 PM
Nice Ricardo to see you back into discus :D
Pat

alcastro
08-08-2015, 07:12 PM
Your Welcome Rick will help as much as i can, will be very interesting to see them grow you got 14 and 9 bar fry, for those that don't know the parents here is a picture that Rick took

https://farm4.staticflickr.com/3705/18543290903_8e655221d7_b.jpg (https://flic.kr/p/ufBdm8)Untitled (https://flic.kr/p/ufBdm8) by rogelio_castro (https://www.flickr.com/photos/18759378@N07/), on Flickr

discuspaul