PDA

View Full Version : A few questions from a first time discus keeper

S10blazin
10-07-2015, 04:11 PM
Ill start by saying I have been pouring through as much of the beginner stickies as I can but still have a few questions. And would like to verify I'm setting everything up right. I have been keeping fish for many years but am new to discus and am trying to make sure I'm going in the right direction.

First ill start with my setup I have a 125 gallon aquarium
2 Eheim 2217 canister filters
2 long aerator tubes at the back of the aquarium
I will be running 2 Hydor external 300 watt heaters with a Ranco controller
I have a minimal gravel cover (you can still see glass in some spots so it should be easy to keep clean)
I also plan on using a few peices of driftwood and fake plants and river rock for decoration and to cover filter intakes etc (these and the gravel are a wife requirement)

My stocking Plan is going to be:

6 Discus (from discus Hans 2.5 or 3+")
15 harlequins
10 panda cories
4? blue rams
I'm currently doing a fish less cycle I will then add all the fish from the local fish store wait 6 weeks then order the discus

My questions are
Is my stocking ok?
Should I or can I add or remove to what I have in the stock list? I would rather maintain a lower stock rather than hurting a bunch of fish and wasting a bunch of money especially on a first attempt.
I know everyone says frequent water changes and and quality foods are key
how is everyone determining how much water to change and how often?
Am I looking for nitrates to stay low? Every other type of fish I have kept have been fine with weekly water changes (this maintains low nitrates and what would be considered a clean tank).
I'm kind of looking for why water is changed so frequently so i can check for it and maintain the tank properly.