PDA

View Full Version : How to use a microscope

Spike Cover
12-02-2015, 03:38 PM
All,

I'm new to Discus but not to fish. I've been a fish geek most of my life but have spent the past 20 years keeping Koi and learning (and teaching) about their health. From looking over the posts on this board, I see that the Discus hobby has many of the same problems that I've seen in Koi, e.g., people trying to treat sick fish w/o knowing what the problem really is. So in an effort to give back a bit for all the information I've found on this board, I thought I'd post a little about how to use a microscope. This is certainly not an exhaustive treatise but is more the essence of it. You'll need to substitute "Discus" for "Koi" and "tank water" for "pond water" in the blurb below, but other than that it should work. BTW this is something that I wrote for the K.O.I. Guide book (a quick reference guide) for Koi Organisation International.

You can just about spend any amount of money for a scope but in the neighborhood of $150 should get you something very decent. If you're a shopper, you can pick up something used for even less.

If you all find this helpful, I can post some info on various parasites, i.e., what they look like, how they move, etc. If this is "old news," I'll just go back to lurking ;).

Spike

DJW
12-02-2015, 05:25 PM
I have an old oil immersion scope that works fine but it would be nice to have one that takes pictures. It can be frustrating sometimes trying to decide which medication to use, and looking under a microscope can solve the mystery.

Microscopic pictures of various parasites are great if you have some. Identification can still be tricky though. For example, there are zillions of critters that have flagella... its not necessarily hexamita.

Spike Cover
12-02-2015, 10:18 PM
I somewhat started in the "middle" with this thread. It should really go like this:

Something looks "off" with the fish (fish farmers call them ADRs, i.e., Ain't Doin' Right).