PDA

View Full Version : Quick Question - Please Help

Old Timer
12-08-2015, 04:59 AM
Hi,
I have a question and I know I haven't been around due to personal reasons but I'll be around much more. After many years I got back into fish and being a Rookie I have a 55 gal tank that's overstocked and have 4 Discus in it. Now to my surprise there doing fine but it's just a matter of time as they grow I will have problem and don't want these beautiful creatures to die. I have them in a 36.5x15x24 which was custom made for the spot I needed and I call it a 55 gal but I believe it's a 58 as someone has mention.

The tank is not long enough and I have another custom tank coming Dec 29th which is 48x14x20 that's also 58 gal for the spot I need. Just don't have any place for a 100 g or else I would be there. anyway I'm moving the 4 discus to the new tank and was going to have 7-9 Sterbai Cories with them and wanted a small school of a tetra but thought better of it and just go with the Discu and Cories. Now finally to my question can I get another discu for the 48" tank something the same size of course.

I would say three of the Discus I have are 3.5" and one is about 3" if not 3.5 also. so can someone please tell me if 5 would be to many. I have them since August and their's people who can't believe there doing that well. WC's good diet with the best food I can get. Thanks for your time and hoping to talk more about the king. To tell the truth I'm over-matched but gaining quickly by reading every day and asking question from the experts like yourself.

Thanks.

Second Hand Pat
12-08-2015, 10:14 AM
Paul, I deleted your other thread and changed the title on this one. How are the four discus you have getting along? If they are getting along fine I would not add a fifth discus. Adding one discus to an existing group can subject the new discus to a lot of stress plus it would need to be QTed etc.
Pat

strawberryblonde
12-08-2015, 12:44 PM
Hi Paul!