PDA

View Full Version : eheim eheim flow control indicator 2028

Eva
12-09-2015, 06:06 AM
hello
anyone know if I can order eheim flow control indicator? cracked the one I have.

also are eheim still one of the better filters to get? might need to get a new one after this.

thanks

rickztahone
12-09-2015, 11:58 PM
hello
anyone know if I can order eheim flow control indicator? cracked the one I have.

also are eheim still one of the better filters to get? might need to get a new one after this.

thanks

I have always had great luck with Rena filters. I have never used the filter you mention but there are a variety of the Rena's.

Tshethar
12-10-2015, 12:43 AM
I have been running a variety of Eheim filters for the past 6-10 years and have been really happy with them. (I have a 2026, a couple of 2217s, a 2215, and a 2229 wet/dry.) They are all extremely quiet, and I haven't had much in the way of problems. Keeping o-rings lubricated generally keeps them going for years and years.

That said, they tend to be a bit pricey unless you can find a deal, and there are plenty of good alternatives. (My 2229 was refurbished and the 2026 was going out of stock when I picked it up a number of years ago.) Also, while I don't have experience with their newer, high-end models, I think most Eheim enthusiasts say that you can't go wrong with the simpler designs of the "classic" series should you end up looking for a new filter. They have fewer seals to potentially leak, fewer parts to potentially require replacement, and they're priced better. The only down side is they're a little bit less user-friendly for servicing, but not by much.

Overall, though, Eheims are such quality filters that I wouldn't be too quick to jettison your 2028. I'm not entirely sure I know what part number you need, but it might be that the assembly you're talking about could be replaced for about $19: http://www.eheimparts.com/display_product.php?pid=2028