PDA

View Full Version : Establishing and maintaining a stable low pH

Martin_NC
12-27-2015, 10:38 PM
I am new to keeping fish and discus. Started a new 60 gallon tank in July, and got a couple of Discus from Petco in September and both seem healthy and feed well. However my pH is running at 7.8-8.0. I do a 25% water change at least 2 times a week, with 75% tap water and 25% R/O water. I use R/O water to reduce the KH and GH of the tap water. However I see lots of posts on forums where people say there pH is at around 7.0-7.4. I want to ask how people achieve and maintain these levels. Before I got the Discuss I tried 100% R/O water and could achieve a specific pH with alkaline and acid buffers, but the pH just goes back to 7.8-8.0 after a while because the CO2 evaporates. So do you continually add acid buffer or use Co2 injection?

This is my first post so here is my tank questionnaire:

1) Started keeping fish in July this year. Now have two freshwater tanks of 60 and 38 gallons. Have read a lot about keeping fish and discuss and understand water parameters. In the 60 gallon tank: 2 Discuss, 3 silver dollars, a dwarf gourami, 3 panda corrys, and a bristlenose pleco. In the 38 gallon tank: 1 Gold gourami, 4 red-eye tetras, 1 pearl danio, 3 sterbai corrys, and a bristlenose pleco. Too many rash buys in there (learning a lot from that and thereupon for the second tank) and plan to move the silver dollars from the 60 to the 38 and probably move the tetras in the opposite direction.

2) Started keeping 2 discuss in September. Have read the stickies on the forum.

3) Tank is 48 wide, 12 back to front, at 24 high.

4) Tank has a sand bottom, a 3D rock face backing, wood, stones and plants (whatever is left which the silver dollars have not demolished). Lighting is LED in a hood but just ordered marineland LED lighting for aquatic plants.