PDA

View Full Version : Completely new to Discus

Goldenmelondiscus
01-05-2016, 12:57 PM
I have been keeping tropical fish for 25 years. I have kept mainly Angels, tetras, corey cats, loaches and plecos. While I love angels (especially black ones) I am ready for a new challenge, so I am looking to get into Discus. I've seen them in my local fish store and the owners raise them, so I'm pretty confident they know their stuff. I've been lurking here since last night learning what I can about Discus.

I have a 29 gallon aquarium with four hockey stick tetras, two skunk corey, a zebra loach and a clown pleco. Is a 29 gallon big enough for one Discus and probably another four blood fin tetras and maybe a clown loach or two, they are one of my favorite fish?

My plan is to have the water tested at my LFS to make sure the water quality before I buy the fish. I have seen Discus Buffer in the pet stores. Is this something I should buy or should I use something else? What about online buying? Is it worth the risk of getting DOA fish?

Is there a specific strain of Discus that is easier than another?
I don't really have any plants in my tanks, I have a huge castle that was in my 55 gallon aquarium as a hiding place. Do I need plants?

I have a back filter and a under gravel filter. I think I have the filtration covered. From the research I have done I know I need to change 25% of the water once a week for adult discus.

ericNH
01-05-2016, 01:19 PM
Discus buffer - stay away form that stuff. anything that modifies the pH is unnecessesary unless you want to breed them. the important thing with pH is stability, not the actual pH value, when it comes to discus.