PDA

View Full Version : Meds to keep on-hand incase needed

Mustanggtandgsxr
01-13-2016, 11:38 AM
Hello All,

Im new to the hobby and have purchased 6 beautiful Discus for my 125 Gallon aquarium. I want to be ready incase anything happens and need to act fast. What are some of the most common meds that I hope to never use, but should have incase something went wrong.

DISEASE QUESTIONNAIRE

Problem

1. Please explain the problems with your fish. When did you notice the problems and did anything unusual happen that you think started them? No problem, they are shy and dark now because they are new and still acclimating. They are starting to eat fine. The lights are still bothering them, but Im sure it will take time. Any tips on what to look for?

2. Symptoms (i.e. turning dark, excess slime, not eating, clamped fins, flashing, darting, clamped gills, white/yellow/green poop, hiding, headstanding or tailstanding, white on tips of fins, rotting or fungus, blisters/white zits on fish, bloated, cloudy eyes, wounds). Dark, Hiding

3. What medications/ treatments have you already tried and what were the results. Include dosage and duration of treatment. none

Tank/Water

4. Tank size and ages, numbers and sizes of fish. 125 gallon, discus are anywhere from 2.5 to 6 inches, I have 6 discus(2 wilds), 10 cory cats, 8 neon tetras. I feed 3 times a day sometimes 4 if I can. I work 10hrs a day.

5. Water change regime (What percentage and how often). 50% every other day, I use Prime

6. How long has tank been running? Is it bare bottom? If you have substrate, what type and how deep is it? tanks has been running for 2 months, 100lbs of Pool Filter Sand substrate about 1.5 inch deep

7. Do you age your water? If you do for how long and what is the ph swing. No I do not age my water, and no ph swing. My ph is the same as the tap.

8. Parameters and water source; 0 Ammonia, 0 Nitrites, 5 Nitrates, water from the tap and I use Prime