PDA

View Full Version : Advice for Potential Discus Owner

VihnDragon
02-12-2016, 02:58 AM
Hello everyone,

I have been keeping fish for many years and am very interested in keeping discus. I've kept tropical fish in a 29 gallon aquarium and two 10-gallon aquariums throughout my high school and early college days, but my later college years financially prohibited me from keeping fish. In 2006, I purchased my own home, but was still unable to set up any type of tank until last year when my parents won a Betta that they didn't want to keep. I set up one of my 10 gallon tanks in my living room and kept the betta with some corydoras catfish.

In early January this year, on a trip to Petsmart to purchase food and a new light bulb, they were selling their floor model of a Marineland 75 gallon tank package (including stand, heater, light fixture and glass canopy) for 50% off. Seeing that I've been wanting a 75 gallon tank for decades and the price was right, I purchased the setup. I've let it cycle through and so far, the current residents seem to be doing fine.

I am illustrating below my current set-up and appreciate any recommendations to help improve this for discus setup.

Currently my tank's water is 82 degrees with 6.4 ph, 0ppm ammonia, 0ppm nitrite and 2.5 nitrate.

I usually feed my fish twice a day with flake food and blood worms every other day. I would like to have my discus be a part of a community tank and I have no interest in breeding or showing discus. I simply want to enjoy them.

Thanks in advance!

briztoon
02-12-2016, 07:55 AM
Watch/Listen to the following video a few times to absorb all the information. There should be a very good chance that the video will give you a lot of food for thought and possibly influence how would like to proceed with your tank from here on out.

Most people on here will mention most of the information that is in the video in answering your questions/responding to your post.