PDA

View Full Version : First discus tank - help needed :)

neoncrypnid
03-05-2016, 05:42 AM
hi all,
I have been keeping fish for a long time and am quite experienced, but not with discus. I have found two healthy discus in a pair for sale. they are adults and good quality. i want to get them and have done some research but i still have lots of questions. I have a tank that is approximate 200l/52gal. would this be enough for two adults? I can upgrade if necessary. also, what should i feed them? i was thinking pellets and blackworms. Should i get a light for the tank or not? Thanks for all the help, as i said i have no past experience with discus.

Thanks again!

Akili
03-05-2016, 08:17 AM
hi all,
I have been keeping fish for a long time and am quite experienced, but not with discus. I have found two healthy discus in a pair for sale. they are adults and good quality. i want to get them and have done some research but i still have lots of questions. I have a tank that is approximate 200l/52gal. would this be enough for two adults? I can upgrade if necessary. also, what should i feed them? i was thinking pellets and blackworms. Should i get a light for the tank or not? Thanks for all the help, as i said i have no past experience with discus.

Thanks again!Hi and welcome to SimplyDiscus,as you indicated that you are new to Discus my first suggestion is to watch this video, spend an hour of your time and watch it
https://youtu.be/VXe3VKh7qF8

Second A 52 gallon tank will be fine for a Pair. Do you know if it is proven pair?. Next about the light the light sure get one, some people prefer lots of lights and some do not.Personal choice here.Discus do well in dimly lit aquarium too. To have healthy discus you should try to provide a nourishing and varied diet for them.Lastly read this http://forum.simplydiscus.com/showthread.php?86009-Beginner-s-Guide-to-Getting-Started-with-Discus

Filip
03-05-2016, 05:37 PM
hi all,

Thanks again!